//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

There’s No “I” in Team, But There is One in Piggy Bank (Sharing Is Caring)

It’s been quite a vacay, but hockey is back! After last year’s shortened season, it’s nice to take the car out of overdrive and cruise through a 6 month, 82 game season. In addition to stretching out the season, for the first time in a while, I’m not in any fantasy leagues. So you may be wondering what I’m doing with alllll this free time. Last year I had the idea to use this little guy to raise money ($31.50 to be exact):

This little piggy went to the sin bin.

As great as it was to track the success of Claude Giroux and Claude Giroux alone, his scoring was not indicative of the achievements of his teammates. No man is a mountain and the Ginger Jesus is no exception, so tracking his success alone just won’t cut it this year. Then there’s the issue of this guy’s arrival in the mail a week ago.

Life, liberty, and the pursuit of pork.

So after much deliberation I decided to make this a charity competition:
How many goals and assists can each team wrack up? The money totals go as follows:

Goals (5-on-5, power play) = $.10

Assists (5-on-5, power play) = $.05

Hattrick = additional $1

I, of course, am typing this as I watch the Washington Capitals’ power play DOMINATE. As of the 15 minute mark in the 3rd period they have scored:

4 goals (5-on-5, power play)= $.40
7 assists(5-on-5, power play) = $.35

The goal is to involve as many players as possible. Whichever team earns the most money by the end of the season will have the total amount donated to their team’s charity/charities.

EDIT: So Mike Green’s first goal is credited to Mikhail Grabovski, giving him the hattie, making the total $1.75… these teams will make me poor.

Hopefully a good amount of money will be made as both teams show some teamwork. I’ll reevaluate these totals if either or both (fingers crossed!) make it to the playoffs.

About sunnyinnj

Female hockey fans are often referred to as "puck bunnies" and unfairly judged. As a female hockey fan with a desire to always learn more about the sport, I have an interest in any and all facets of the sport. I would like to write stories that appeal to female hockey fans who are not watching because the players are hot and look good in suits (that is a plus). My heart belongs to the Flyers but I have interest in players/teams all over the league. I know what it’s like being a new fan to the sport and having to hold your own with people who have been immersed in the game longer than I’ve been alive. Take a deep breath, it’s okay, we’ll get through this together. I don’t promise expertise, but I do hope to impart upon you my love for this “figure skating in a war zone” and create fans where there once weren’t and turn casual interest into all-out love. I am in this committed relationship with hockey and I do not foresee it ending anytime soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

