//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Wait… I know that guy! What is his name…

As an NHL-oriented hockey fan, this weekend poses a new predicament: how to recognize AHL players at the penny slots in Atlantic City. It’s a rare and happy day when anything hockey-related comes closer to home than Philadelphia so when I uncovered that the locale of the 2012 AHL All-Star Game would be the eastern city of sin, I hopped on the bandwagon.

Unfortunately, my love of the NHL and the lack of televised AHL games hindered most of my attempts to become familiar with the names and faces rocking the minor leagues. Sure I know the Adirondack Phantoms up and down, but ask me what affiliate the Chicago Wolves play for… I’m at a loss. So without further adieu, I present the players who could be walking around AC this weekend. For those who may be playing the slots this weekend as well, we added pictures!

Forwards

Cam Atkinson                   Keith Aucoin

Jonathan Audy-Marchessault

Chris Bourque              Carter Camper

Casey Cizikas               Cory Conacher

Philippe Cornet             Jon DiSalvatore

Matt Fraser                   Darren Haydar

Ryan Hamilton               T.J. Hensick

Boyd Kane                   Zack Kassian

Ryan Keller                   Krys Kolanos

Corey Locke                 Colin McDonald

Andy Miele                    Chris Mueller

Gustav Nyquist               Kyle Palmieri

Brandon Pirri                 Jerome Samson

Trevor Smith                  Chris Terry

Mats Zuccarello

Defensemen

Mark Barberio                 Tyson Barrie

Kevin Connauton              Brian Connelly

Cade Fairchild                 Thomas Hickey

Matt Irwin                         Paul Postma

Zach Redmond                  Colby Robak

Frederic St. Denis              Alexander Urbom

Clay Wilson

Goaltenders

Ben Bishop                 Yann Danis

Matt Hackett                Michael Leighton

Tyson Sexsmith           Jeff Zatkoff


About sunnyinnj

Female hockey fans are often referred to as "puck bunnies" and unfairly judged. As a female hockey fan with a desire to always learn more about the sport, I have an interest in any and all facets of the sport. I would like to write stories that appeal to female hockey fans who are not watching because the players are hot and look good in suits (that is a plus). My heart belongs to the Flyers but I have interest in players/teams all over the league. I know what it’s like being a new fan to the sport and having to hold your own with people who have been immersed in the game longer than I’ve been alive. Take a deep breath, it’s okay, we’ll get through this together. I don’t promise expertise, but I do hope to impart upon you my love for this “figure skating in a war zone” and create fans where there once weren’t and turn casual interest into all-out love. I am in this committed relationship with hockey and I do not foresee it ending anytime soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

