//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Some questions that arise in the dust settling on Prospect Camp

After absorbing just about as much online coverage as one can throughout prospect camp, I have a couple of questions that I feel deserve answering but will probably remain unattended to. Here we go!

– I have enough media coverage of Brayden Schenn to create a legitimate scrapbook. Why have I not seen more than about…. 30 seconds of his on ice skills at camp? I realize we keep our training under wraps and we don’t want the rest of the world knowing just what Riley Cote and Ian Laperriere are telling the kids, but I want to see what kind of punch the future Mike Richards (his words, not mine) is packing.

What is up with Eric Gustaffson’s hair? He looks like he came straight from a German all night rave or an off Broadway production of The Sound of Music. Either way, no me gusta.

– Make up your mind Zac Rinaldo! Are you a lover or a fighter? Few men can tread that line. You, sir, are not one of them. PICK A SIDE!

-In connection with my previous question, what actually happened to Rinaldo’s twitter? The guy was on his way to Twitter stardom of the likes of Paul Bissonnette or at least Dan Carcillo but like his formers, his tweet-happy updates were silenced. Was it he who decided he had had enough with Twitter or was his, for lack of a better word, verbal diarrhea plugged up by a member of Flyers PR? I suspect much like in the case of Carbomb Carcillo, the world may never know.

Where do the prospects REALLY stand in September? Some players are destined for a roster spot on the Flyers, some will forever possess a spot as an Adirondack Phantom but what about those who sit on the fence of the farm team? Some of these players I speak of (Eric Wellwood, Ben Holmstrom, Danny Syvret, Zac Rinaldo, Kevin Marshall, Eric Gustafsson) have filled in for Flyers in dire times, but some who have not (Andrew Rowe, Matt Read, Oliver Lauridsen) have raised the eyebrows of a couple of higher ups. Hopefully this was a sneak peek of a VERY tumultuous training camp. (Drama creates great stories)

About sunnyinnj

Female hockey fans are often referred to as "puck bunnies" and unfairly judged. As a female hockey fan with a desire to always learn more about the sport, I have an interest in any and all facets of the sport. I would like to write stories that appeal to female hockey fans who are not watching because the players are hot and look good in suits (that is a plus). My heart belongs to the Flyers but I have interest in players/teams all over the league. I know what it’s like being a new fan to the sport and having to hold your own with people who have been immersed in the game longer than I’ve been alive. Take a deep breath, it’s okay, we’ll get through this together. I don’t promise expertise, but I do hope to impart upon you my love for this “figure skating in a war zone” and create fans where there once weren’t and turn casual interest into all-out love. I am in this committed relationship with hockey and I do not foresee it ending anytime soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

